IN MEMORY: MY MOST BELOVED PARENTS

THE TWO BROTHERS

I wonder where on earth, people have ever seen brothers, that were so closed to each other like my uncle, M. Tarigan, a successful businessman and my dad, S. Tarigan, a Colonel of the army.

They called themselves as “chicken legs”, they were only two in the family, so when one leg lost, the chicken would be crippled, no more balance, no more health, only sadness left.

It proved! When my uncle passed away decades back, I could only see sadness in my daddy’s eyes until he also passed away in 1994 when I was still posted as the Commercial Counselor at the Indonesian Embassy in the Netherlands.

Both died at a very young age; my uncle died when he was only 49, my daddy a bit fortunate when he was 67. My grand father died when he was only 44 because of the revolution against colonial Dutch; no one found his body until now, what we buried only his picture. My grand father’s friend who happened to had been saved by the Indonesian guerrillas at that time, told the family that my grand father had been seen to had been onslaught by the other groups of rebellions that were consisted of robbers and wild rebels. My Grand father was a very well known rich man from Highland Karo, so presumably he must be killed to stopped him from supporting the revolution.

What I can recall until now is how my uncle and my dad loved each other so much. They were always behave like two little kids when they met, they could sit together, talk, laugh, and everyone can see very clearly, how they cared of each other so dearly. They both  were our two pillars, very strong, very protected towards their children, very tough and hard working persons, never complain at any circumstances, even at a very low point of their life.

Our parents taught  us, how to live in simple way yet valuable to other people and to our country. Regretfully however, none of their children could endure that way. We were all, included my cousins lived exactly like excessive spoiled little kids; and even until now, almost none us could live as fighters as our parents.  We could only sell our heritages one after another, until only very few left. None of us seems wanted to keep our parents legacy, to keep what left for our future generations.

In sadness I write this article, with tears in my heart. I wish my siblings would read this article one-day and aware of how important love is in life, how important is caring of each other rather than quarreling, how important the togetherness and to be grateful to what God gives through our parents.

Yes, our bodies is the symbol of love of our parents, the bodies and souls are the most important. As Christian we can rely to our believe that God will not leave us all starves, yet He wanted us to  work hard too, to respect each other and to love each other, so that we can leave peacefully and help the others.

I wish the fighting spirits of our parents would re-born  in us and we can wake up as new persons again, full with love and full with the fighting spirit. I amen to that in Christ name.

In memory: My beloved uncle, aunt, dearest mommy and daddy. Photo taken in January, 1972 right after New Year, in front of my uncle’s villa, at Gundaling Hill, Berastagi, Highland Karo, North Sumatra, Indonesia. From here we can see very clearly the volcanic mountain, Mount Sibayak.

About NENENG TARIGAN

For those who want to know about me, please visit my other blogs, http://neneng-tarigan.blogspot.com http://nenengt.blogspot.com and http://fashionartdeco.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in SOCIAL. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to IN MEMORY: MY MOST BELOVED PARENTS

  1. SJ says:

    A very touching article, I can see how hard it must of been to write it but I can also see how proud you are of the connections that were there.

  2. Neneng, the spirit of your beautiful parents lives on in you. You are keeping their legacy. You are shining their lights, and spreading the love and truth they imparted to you. That’s what matters in the end. God will reckon with the other family members who have yet to see the light.
    Thank you for sharing this most poignant post.
    Much love and many blessings to you this new year.
    I wish you blue birds (this is a lovely saying I just learned from someone else, and now passing along to you).
    Debra

    • Thanks a lot Debra. Your words were such an encouragement to me to deal with all matters around my family. I hope my siblings would understand, how important it is to keep a legacy rather than to spend what lefts for temporary needs. I know they have financial and health problems (some of them are badly sick), however the only way they solved the problems were by selling and selling whatever left. Any helps seems would never enough, so spoiled. I wanted to revive everything with love, though at the end it was always turn to disappointment. Thanks for the prayers, I wish many blessing to you too Debra. Neneng.

  3. thanks for this acticle!

  4. Manu says:

    heart touching article….liked it….i know u would maintain the relations well….

  5. Sweepy Jean says:

    Hi, Neneng. This is a beautiful tribute to your parents. It seems their strength still lives in you. I’m happy I came across your blog.

  6. Hey
    Absolutely brilliant.
    really helpful.
    please also read my blog:

    http://kratik1987.blogspot.com/

    Cheers 🙂
    Kratik

  7. I think this is one of the most important information for me. And im glad reading your article. Good job, cheers

  8. jojo says:

    WOw very touching article… The message it sends rings true in all of our lives. So important to value and hold the ones we love close because we are not guranteed tomorrow. Thank u for sharingw

  9. Jorie Pacli says:

    As a child we are always reminded to love and respect our parents and our elders. They are our role models. Keeping their legacy is a pride we should partake in. I’m so touched by your sincerity and genuity Neneng. This article is a great inspiration for every one of us. May God be with you always…. Thank you for sharing us this post.

  10. I found here something new and interesting. Thanks

  11. Salar Mohamed Bijili says:

    Touching article. My prayers are with them. Our near and dear ones always live on in our memories and continue to inspire us from above.

  12. Norazam says:

    Neneng..its a touching and sad story as well as a tribute.I love this as it makes me more conscious towards my parents and my only 6 year old son.

  13. Pak Nor, I never regret to have a lot of siblings, frankly speaking however, it is a blessing to only have one child.

  14. This is a very touching post. Very well put. Makes me think of my parents and what they have done for me.

  15. AJ says:

    Such a touching post, Neneng. Having lost my own father recently, I can somehow feel your profound sadness. The legacy of family love from your father and uncle lives on in you, Neneng. Thank you for sharing this very personal story.

    • My deepest condolances for yr bereavement too AJ. I know u r such a strong and good person. The spirit and the legacy or yr beloved dad will remain in tag in u. Thanks for yr encouragement to me AJ. GBU

  16. Debbie says:

    Neneng, very touching post. Thank you for sharing it with us, you and your family are in my prayers.

  17. Awesome post. I so good to see someone taking the time to share this information

  18. Good! Thank you! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my blog?

  19. Intriguing post. I have been searching for some good resources for solar panels and discovered your blog. Planning to bookmark this one!

Leave a Reply

